NHL Hockey

Vegas owner says NHL executive apologized for Game 7 penalty

(AP Photo/Jeff Chiu)


Associated Press

LAS VEGAS (AP) The owner of the Vegas Golden Knights said Thursday a senior NHL executive phoned him to apologize for a penalty called during Game 7 of his team's loss to the San Jose Sharks.

Owner Bill Foley said the call came the morning after Vegas lost 5-4 in overtime Tuesday night to end the first-round series. Foley said at a news conference the call came from an executive who is "about as senior as you can get," but he did not want to identify him.

The play in question was a major penalty on Cody Eakin of the Golden Knights that Foley described as "infuriating."

The owner said the executive admitted it was a "bad call" and the league did "acknowledge" it. Foley added that the apology made him "feel a little better after that."

Foley said he was sitting with injured forward Erik Haula in a suite at SAP Center when Eakin cross-checked Sharks captain Joe Pavelski in the chest with 10:47 to play. Paul Stastny bumped Pavelski as he fell to the ice, where he was knocked out and bleeding on the ice.

The officials conferred on the unreviewable play while a dazed Pavelski was helped to the locker room with a towel pressed to his head. Eakin was assessed a 5-minute penalty for cross-checking and a game misconduct. The Sharks scored four goals on the ensuing power play.

Series supervisor Don VanMassenhoven said the major penalty was given because the cross-check caused a significant injury.

"The game was ours, it was over, 3-zip," Foley said. "We were looking, saying `all we gotta do is play some defense, play defense and stay out of the box.' Within 30 seconds, 5-minute major. It wasn't a penalty. Painful."

San Jose coach Peter DeBoer said Pavelski is listed as day to day but is not expected to be cleared for Game 1 of the second-round series against the Avalanche on Friday night.

DeBoer downplayed the league's call to Foley.

"I haven't gotten many of their calls where they made a mistake," DeBoer said. "There were a couple earlier in that series where I would have appreciated a call. We're past that. We're on to the next opponent now."


AP sports writer Josh Dubow in San Jose, California, contributed to this report.


More AP NHL: https://apnews.com/tag/NHL and https://twitter.com/AP-Sports

Updated April 25, 2019

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Teams Score Time
Colorado 5 F
New York 11
Colorado   1:05pm
New York  
American League
Chicago 2 F
Tampa Bay 1
Toronto 7 F
Detroit 5
Boston 17 F
Baltimore 6
Kansas City 1 F
Cleveland 0
Oakland 5 F
Minnesota 4
Texas 1 F
Houston 6
Los Angeles 6 F
Seattle 2
Boston   1:05pm
Chicago   1:10pm
Tampa Bay  
Kansas City   1:10pm
Toronto   1:10pm
Oakland   2:10pm
Texas   2:10pm
Los Angeles   4:10pm
National League
San Diego 5 F
Chicago 6
New York 11 F
San Francisco 4
Philadelphia 1 F
Pittsburgh 5
St. Louis 2 F
Cincinnati 3
Washington 5 F
Atlanta 3
Milwaukee 8 F
Arizona 3
Miami 6 F
Los Angeles 10
St. Louis   1:10pm
Philadelphia   1:35pm
San Diego   2:20pm
New York   4:05pm
San Francisco  
Miami   4:10pm
Los Angeles  
Milwaukee   4:10pm
Washington   7:08pm
The Open Championship
Pos Name Score Thru
1 Shane Lowry -16 1:47pm
2 Tommy Fleetwood -12 1:47pm
3 J.B. Holmes -10 1:37pm
4 Brooks Koepka -9 1:37pm
4 Justin Rose -9 1:27pm
6 Rickie Fowler -8 1:27pm
6 Lee Westwood -8 1:17pm
8 Tony Finau -7 1:07pm
8 Jon Rahm -7 1:07pm
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 1 Kurt Busch 4
2 18 Kyle Busch 10
3 20 Erik Jones 21
4 42 Kyle Larson 19
5 11 Denny Hamlin 18
6 14 Clint Bowyer 7
7 22 Joey Logano 11
8 41 Daniel Suarez 1
9 6 Ryan Newman 23
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 20 Christopher Bell 2
2 00 Cole Custer 1
3 7 Justin Allgaier 8
4 2 Tyler Reddick 11
5 12 Paul Menard 4
6 98 Chase Briscoe 5
7 8 Ryan Truex 9
8 93 Ryan Sieg 15
9 19 Brandon Jones 6
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 17 Tyler Ankrum 9
2 52 Stewart Friesen 32
3 18 Harrison Burton 6
4 45 Ross Chastain 5
5 15 Dylan Lupton 20
6 22 Austin Self 16
7 24 Brett Moffitt 7
8 11 Spencer Davis 21
9 44 Jeb Burton 28