MLB Baseball

#26
Mike Foltynewicz
ERA W-L K
4.80 7-5 93
Team: AtlantaHt / Wt: 6-4 / 195
Position: SPBorn: 10/7/1991 Birthplace: Sterling, Illinois
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Astros (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 14 4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST5:38 PM CST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)6:38 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz improved to 7-5, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Washington Nationals 10-1 on Saturday. Foltynewicz struck out five, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz improved to 6-5, allowing one run on three hits in 7.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 7-2 on Monday. Foltynewicz struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.00 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz improved to 5-5, allowing two hits and three walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-2 on Tuesday. Foltynewicz struck out two, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz allowed three runs - two earned - on eight hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 9-4 on Wednesday. Foltynewicz struck out three, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST9:53 PM CST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the New York Mets 2-1 on Friday. Foltynewicz struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.68 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz allowed two runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-3 on Saturday. Foltynewicz struck out five, ending the game with a 6.09 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST2:37 PM CST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz improved to 4-5, allowing four runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Sunday. Foltynewicz struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.24 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 8:39 PM PT9:39 PM MT10:39 PM CT11:39 PM ET23:39 ET3:39 GMT11:39 8:39 PM MST10:39 PM EST9:39 PM CST11:09 PM VEN7:39 UAE (+1)10:39 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz improved to 3-5, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Minnesota Twins 12-7 on Tuesday. Foltynewicz struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.26 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
June 22 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz allowed eight runs on eight hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Washington Nationals 13-9 on Saturday. Foltynewicz struck out two, ending the game with a 6.37 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST2:39 PM CST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz improved to 2-5, allowing one run on four hits and five walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 15-1 on Sunday. Foltynewicz struck out six, ending the game with a 5.53 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 12 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz allowed four runs on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-5 on Tuesday. Foltynewicz struck out five, ending the game with a 6.02 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
June 6 12:42 PM PT1:42 PM MT2:42 PM CT3:42 PM ET15:42 ET19:42 GMT3:42 12:42 PM MST2:42 PM EST1:42 PM CST3:12 PM VEN23:42 UAE2:42 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz fell to 1-5, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-1 on Thursday. Foltynewicz struck out five, ending the game with a 5.89 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 31 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz fell to 1-4, allowing five runs on seven hits in 5.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Detroit Tigers 8-2 on Friday. Foltynewicz struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.10 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
May 24 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz improved to 1-3, allowing one run - zero earned - on five hits in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2 on Friday. Foltynewicz struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.67 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 19 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST2:08 PM CST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz allowed two runs on three hits in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-2 on Sunday. Foltynewicz struck out three, ending the game with a 6.91 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 14 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz fell to 0-3, allowing eight runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 14-3 on Tuesday. Foltynewicz struck out four, ending the game with an 8.02 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
May 9 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Mike Foltynewicz fell to 0-2, allowing five runs on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-4 on Wednesday. Foltynewicz struck out two, ending the game with a 5.94 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
May 2 12:07 PM PT1:07 PM MT2:07 PM CT3:07 PM ET15:07 ET19:07 GMT3:07 12:07 PM MST2:07 PM EST1:07 PM CST2:37 PM VEN23:07 UAE2:07 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz fell to 0-1, allowing six runs - two earned - on eight hits in 4.2 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the San Diego Padres 11-2 on Thursday. Foltynewicz struck out three, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Mike Foltynewicz allowed four runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Colorado Rockies 9-5 on Saturday. Foltynewicz struck out five, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Foltynewicz (elbow) is expected to make his season debut Saturday against the Rockies.
Analysis: Foltynewicz is coming off a breakthrough 2018 campaign in which he went 13-10 with a 2.85 ERA and 202 strikeouts in 31 starts.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Hou 0 1 0 - 0 16 0 0 18.2 23 11 11 3 7 0 14 1.61 5.30
2015 Atl 4 6 0 - 0 18 15 0 86.2 112 63 55 17 29 0 77 1.63 5.71
2016 Atl 9 5 0 - 0 22 22 0 123.1 125 61 59 18 35 2 111 1.30 4.31
2017 Atl 10 13 0 - 0 29 28 0 154.0 169 86 82 20 59 2 143 1.48 4.79
2018 Atl 13 10 0 - 0 31 31 2 183.0 130 65 58 17 68 3 202 1.08 2.85
2019 Atl 7 5 0 - 0 19 19 0 105.0 103 62 56 21 35 2 93 1.31 4.80
Career 43 40 0 - 0 135 115 2 670.2 662 348 321 96 233 9 640 1.33 4.31

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Atl 18 28 0 2 1 0 0 3 0 19 0 0 .071 .069 .107
2016 Atl 22 36 3 5 1 0 0 1 1 19 0 0 .139 .162 .167
2017 Atl 29 42 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 27 0 0 .048 .048 .048
2018 Atl 31 58 3 3 1 0 0 4 0 41 0 0 .052 .052 .069
2019 Atl 19 30 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 17 0 0 .033 .033 .033
Career 135 194 7 13 3 0 0 9 1 123 0 0 .067 .071 .082

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2018 Atl Total 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 12.0 10 10 10 4 14 2 20 7.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.0 5 5 5 2 7 1 10 7.50
Career 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.0 5 5 5 2 7 1 10 7.50

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 Atl Total 4 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 896 99 84 95 51.73
Curveball 172 83 72 79.6 9.93
Slider 488 90 80 85.5 28.18
Changeup 176 91 82 86.8 10.16

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Teams Score Time
NCAA FB
Appalachian State   Sat 3:30pm
North Carolina  
Ball State   Sat 7:00pm
NC State  
NFL
Carolina   Sun 4:05pm
Arizona  
Teams Score Time
Air Force   Fri 9:00pm
Boise State  
Utah   Fri 9:00pm
USC  
Boston College   Sat 12:00pm
Rutgers  
California   Sat 12:00pm
Ole Miss  
Elon   Sat 12:00pm
Wake Forest  
LSU   Sat 12:00pm
Vanderbilt  
Michigan   Sat 12:00pm
Wisconsin  
Southern Mississippi   Sat 12:00pm
Alabama  
Tennessee   Sat 12:00pm
Florida  
Western Michigan   Sat 12:00pm
Syracuse  
Appalachian State   Sat 3:30pm
North Carolina  
Auburn   Sat 3:30pm
Texas A&M  
Louisville   Sat 3:30pm
Florida State  
Miami (OH)   Sat 3:30pm
Ohio State  
SMU   Sat 3:30pm
TCU  
UCF   Sat 3:30pm
Pittsburgh  
Washington   Sat 3:30pm
BYU  
Central Michigan   Sat 4:00pm
Miami  
Ball State   Sat 7:00pm
NC State  
Old Dominion   Sat 7:00pm
Virginia  
Oregon   Sat 7:00pm
Stanford  
Charlotte   Sat 7:30pm
Clemson  
Oklahoma State   Sat 7:30pm
Texas  
Notre Dame   Sat 8:00pm
Georgia  
Colorado   Sat 10:00pm
Arizona State  
UCLA   Sat 10:30pm
Washington State  
Teams Score Time
Interleague
Seattle 6 F
Pittsburgh 5
San Francisco 4 F
Boston 5
American League
Los Angeles 1 F
New York 9
Toronto 8 9th
Baltimore 4
Detroit 0 7th
Cleveland 7
Kansas City 5 5th
Minnesota 6
National League
Philadelphia 4 F
Atlanta 5
San Diego 1 F
Milwaukee 5
St. Louis 4 8th
Chicago 1
Teams Score Time
Tennessee 0 HALF
Jacksonville 14
Atlanta   Sun 1:00pm
Indianapolis  
Baltimore   Sun 1:00pm
Kansas City  
Cincinnati   Sun 1:00pm
Buffalo  
Denver   Sun 1:00pm
Green Bay  
Detroit   Sun 1:00pm
Philadelphia  
Miami   Sun 1:00pm
Dallas  
New York   Sun 1:00pm
New England  
Oakland   Sun 1:00pm
Minnesota  
Carolina   Sun 4:05pm
Arizona  
New York   Sun 4:05pm
Tampa Bay  
Houston   Sun 4:25pm
Los Angeles  
New Orleans   Sun 4:25pm
Seattle  
Pittsburgh   Sun 4:25pm
San Francisco  
Los Angeles   Sun 8:20pm
Cleveland  
Teams Score Time
Boston 3 F
Philadelphia 1
Columbus 1 F
Pittsburgh 4
Florida 4 F/SO
Montreal 5
Dallas 0 00:00 1st
Colorado 1
Vancouver 2 00:00 1st
Edmonton 1
Vegas   10:30pm
Los Angeles  
MONSTER ENERGY NASCAR CUP SERIES AT LAS VEGAS
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 19 Martin Truex Jr 24
2 4 Kevin Harvick 3
3 2 Brad Keselowski 18
4 9 Chase Elliott 8
5 12 Ryan Blaney 23
6 88 Alex Bowman 19
7 24 William Byron 14
8 42 Kyle Larson 15
9 22 Joey Logano 22
NASCAR XFINITY SERIES AT LAS VEGAS
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 2 Tyler Reddick 4
2 20 Christopher Bell 2
3 19 Brandon Jones 6
4 00 Cole Custer 1
5 7 Justin Allgaier 3
6 9 Noah Gragson 36
7 08 Gray Gaulding 16
8 23 John Hunter Nemechek 13
9 18 Riley Herbst 15
NASCAR GANDER OUTDOORS TRUCK SERIES AT LAS VEGAS
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 16 Austin Hill 7
2 45 Ross Chastain 2
3 51 Christian Eckes 1
4 2 Sheldon Creed 6
5 4 Todd Gilliland 3
6 30 Brennan Poole 18
7 24 Brett Moffitt 4
8 99 Ben Rhodes 13
9 18 Harrison Burton 9