MLB Baseball

#54
Sonny Gray
ERA W-L K
2.87 11-8 205
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 5-10 / 192
Position: SPBorn: 11/7/1989 Birthplace: Nashville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Athletics (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 24 6:38 PM PT7:38 PM MT8:38 PM CT9:38 PM ET21:38 ET1:38 GMT9:38 6:38 PM MST8:38 PM EST7:38 PM CST9:08 PM VEN5:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 11-8, allowing three runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 11-7, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 6.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 10-7, allowing three runs on two hits and three walks in 6.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-3 on Wednesday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run on four hits in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Thursday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run - zero earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Saturday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 10-6, allowing two runs on two hits and five walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Miami Marlins 6-3 on Monday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 9-6, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 8-6, allowing one hit and three walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 2-1 on Thursday. Gray struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.98 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 7-6, allowing two hits and four walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 10-1 on Saturday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST3:21 PM CST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed four hits and four walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-4 on Sunday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 29 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 6-6, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 11-6 on Monday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST9:48 PM CST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 6-5 on Monday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 17 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 5-6, allowing two runs on two hits in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-2 on Wednesday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.40 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 12 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST9:23 PM CST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run on five hits and three walks in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-2 on Friday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:03 PM PT8:03 PM MT9:03 PM CT10:03 PM ET22:03 ET2:03 GMT10:03 7:03 PM MST9:03 PM EST8:03 PM CST9:33 PM VEN6:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 5-5, allowing four hits and one walk over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 3-0 on Wednesday. Gray struck out 12, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 4-5, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-3 on Friday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 22 9:23 PM PT10:23 PM MT11:23 PM CT12:23 AM ET0:23 ET4:23 GMT12:23 9:23 PM MST11:23 PM EST10:23 PM CST11:53 PM VEN8:23 UAE11:23 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed four runs on six hits and four walks in 4.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 11-7 on Friday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 16 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST4:09 PM CST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 3-5, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Texas Rangers 11-3 on Sunday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 9 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Sunday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 2 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST2:21 PM CST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 2-5, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Washington Nationals 4-1 on Sunday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 27 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 2-4, allowing one run on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-1 on Monday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 21 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 1-4, allowing five hits and four walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 3-0 on Tuesday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs on five hits in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Wednesday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 9 11:09 PM PT12:09 AM MT1:09 AM CT2:09 AM ET2:09 ET6:09 GMT14:09 11:09 PM MST1:09 AM EST12:09 AM CST1:39 AM VEN10:09 UAE1:09 AM CT-Sonny Gray allowed four runs - three earned - on six hits and five walks in 4.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-4 on Wednesday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 3 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Francisco Giants 12-11 on Friday. Gray struck out two, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST3:14 PM CST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-4, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2 on Sunday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 3.64 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed four runs - three earned - on six hits in 5.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Atlanta Braves 7-6 on Tuesday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST3:51 PM CST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-3, allowing three runs on two hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-2 on Wednesday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 12:07 PM PT1:07 PM MT2:07 PM CT3:07 PM ET15:07 ET19:07 GMT3:07 12:07 PM MST2:07 PM EST1:07 PM CST2:37 PM VEN23:07 UAE2:07 PM CT-Gray was pulled from Thursday's start against the Marlins after four innings with a left calf injury.
Analysis: Gray was hit by a comebacker in the second inning but remained in the game until being replaced by Robert Stephenson to start the fifth. The right-hander held the Marlins to two hits and struck out six over four scoreless frames in his second straight solid outing. The injury doesn't appear to be serious at first glance.
Apr. 5 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-2, allowing one run on three hits in 6.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 2-0 on Friday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-1, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits and four walks in 2.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-0 on Sunday. Gray did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 3.38 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Oak 5 3 0 - 0 12 10 0 64.0 51 22 19 4 20 0 67 1.11 2.67
2014 Oak 14 10 0 - 0 33 33 2 219.0 187 84 75 15 74 2 183 1.19 3.08
2015 Oak 14 7 0 - 0 31 31 3 208.0 166 71 63 17 59 0 169 1.08 2.73
2016 Oak 5 11 0 - 0 22 22 0 117.0 133 80 74 18 42 0 94 1.50 5.69
2017 Oak 6 5 0 - 0 16 16 0 97.0 84 48 37 8 30 0 94 1.18 3.43
2017 NYY 4 7 0 - 0 11 11 1 65.1 55 31 27 11 27 1 59 1.26 3.72
2017 Tot 10 12 0 - 0 27 27 1 162.1 139 79 64 19 57 1 153 1.21 3.55
2018 NYY 11 9 0 - 0 30 23 0 130.1 138 73 71 14 57 0 123 1.50 4.90
2019 Cin 11 8 0 - 0 31 31 0 175.1 122 59 56 17 68 1 205 1.08 2.87
Career 70 60 0 - 0 186 177 6 1076.0 936 468 422 104 377 4 994 1.22 3.53

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Oak 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Oak 31 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2016 Oak 22 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 NYY 30 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Cin 34 46 3 7 0 1 0 3 2 19 0 0 .152 .188 .196
Career 189 58 4 8 0 1 0 3 2 25 0 0 .138 .167 .172

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Oak Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08
2017 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.1 4 5 4 1 6 0 6 4.32
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.1 3 3 3 1 4 0 2 8.10
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 1 2 1 0 2 0 4 1.80
Career 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 21.1 14 8 7 2 12 1 18 2.95


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1384 96 87 90.5 47.58
Curveball 743 85 72 79 25.54
Slider 605 88 81 82.7 20.8
Changeup 165 92 76 78.9 5.67
Cut Fastball 12 93 87 91 .41

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Teams Score Time
American League
New York 2 F
Houston 3
National League
St. Louis   7:38pm
Washington  
Teams Score Time
Cleveland 72 F
Boston 118
New Orleans 123 F
San Antonio 114
Chicago 105 F
Toronto 91
Milwaukee 115 F
Washington 108
Philadelphia 126 F
Orlando 94
Atlanta   7:30pm
Miami  
Charlotte   8:00pm
Memphis  
Oklahoma City   8:30pm
Dallas  
Sacramento   9:00pm
Utah  
Denver   10:00pm
Phoenix  
Golden State   10:30pm
Los Angeles  
Teams Score Time
Cincinnati 17 F
Baltimore 23
Houston 31 F
Kansas City 24
New Orleans 13 F
Jacksonville 6
Philadelphia 20 F
Minnesota 38
Seattle 32 F
Cleveland 28
Washington 17 F
Miami 16
Atlanta 33 F
Arizona 34
San Francisco 20 F
Los Angeles 7
Dallas 22 F
New York 24
Tennessee 0 F
Denver 16
Pittsburgh 24 F
Los Angeles 17
Detroit   8:15pm
Green Bay  
Teams Score Time
Pittsburgh 7 F
Winnipeg 2
Calgary 1 F
San Jose 3
Vegas 5 F
Los Angeles 2
Anaheim   1:00pm
Boston  
Florida   1:00pm
New Jersey  
Minnesota   1:00pm
Ottawa  
St. Louis   1:00pm
New York  
Dallas   3:00pm
Buffalo  
Colorado   5:00pm
Washington  
Edmonton   8:30pm
Chicago  
MONSTER ENERGY NASCAR CUP SERIES AT TALLADEGA
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 24 William Byron 3
2 22 Joey Logano 10
3 88 Alex Bowman 2
4 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 7
5 2 Brad Keselowski 6
6 42 Kyle Larson 12
7 48 Jimmie Johnson 4
8 41 Daniel Suarez 19
9 1 Kurt Busch 24
NASCAR XFINITY SERIES AT DOVER
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 00 Cole Custer 3
2 7 Justin Allgaier 8
3 22 Austin Cindric 2
4 11 Justin Haley 11
5 98 Chase Briscoe 1
6 1 Michael Annett 16
7 9 Noah Gragson 7
8 23 John Hunter Nemechek 17
9 8 Zane Smith 10
NASCAR GANDER OUTDOORS TRUCK SERIES AT TALLADEGA
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 20 Spencer Boyd 25
2 4 Todd Gilliland 6
3 51 Riley Herbst 7
4 24 Brett Moffitt 8
5 52 Stewart Friesen 10
6 16 Austin Hill 13
7 17 Tyler Ankrum 2
8 88 Matt Crafton 1
9 2 Sheldon Creed 5