banner

MLB Baseball

#49
Julio Teheran
ERA W-L K
3.94 9-9 162
Team: AtlantaHt / Wt: 6-2 / 205
Position: SPBorn: 1/27/1991 Birthplace: Cartagena, Colombia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Braves (2007)


Latest News
Oct. 8 5:20 PM PT6:20 PM MT7:20 PM CT8:20 PM ET20:20 ET0:20 GMT8:20 5:20 PM MST7:20 PM EST6:20 PM CST7:50 PM VEN4:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-2 on Monday. Teheran struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.60 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 27 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Julio Teheran fell to 9-9, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the New York Mets 4-1 on Thursday. Teheran struck out five, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed four runs on five hits and three walks in 6.1 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Friday. Teheran struck out five, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST2:55 PM CST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Julio Teheran fell to 9-8, allowing two runs on three hits and six walks in 4.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Washington Nationals 7-1 on Saturday. Teheran struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.97 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST10:22 PM CST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed two runs - one earned - on two hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4 on Saturday. Teheran struck out six, ending the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST5:56 PM CST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-1 on Sunday. Teheran struck out five, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 9-5 on Tuesday. Teheran struck out five, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST7:45 PM CST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Julio Teheran improved to 9-7, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 2-1 on Wednesday. Teheran struck out five, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-3 on Thursday. Teheran struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2 on Saturday. Teheran struck out six, ending the game with a 4.33 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST2:33 PM CST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed three runs on five hits and four walks in 5.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the New York Mets 5-4 on Sunday. Teheran struck out six, ending the game with a 4.48 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 30 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Julio Teheran improved to 8-7, allowing three runs on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Miami Marlins 5-3 on Monday. Teheran struck out four, ending the game with a 4.46 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 24 11:51 AM PT12:51 PM MT1:51 PM CT2:51 PM ET14:51 ET18:51 GMT2:51 11:51 AM MST1:51 PM EST12:51 PM CST2:21 PM VEN22:51 UAE1:51 PM CT-Julio Teheran fell to 7-7, allowing nine runs - seven earned - on seven hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Miami Marlins 9-3 on Tuesday. Teheran struck out three, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 15 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Julio Teheran improved to 7-6, allowing four hits and three walks over 6.1 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-1 on Sunday. Teheran struck out six, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 10 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 6.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-2 on Tuesday. Teheran struck out five, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 4 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST2:20 PM CST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Julio Teheran fell to 6-6, allowing five runs on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the New York Yankees 6-2 on Wednesday. Teheran struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 29 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Julio Teheran improved to 6-5, allowing two hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-1 on Friday. Teheran struck out four, ending the game with a 4.21 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 23 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST5:44 PM CST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)6:44 PM CT-Julio Teheran fell to 5-5, allowing seven runs on six hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-5 on Saturday. Teheran struck out six, ending the game with a 4.52 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 17 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST2:50 PM CST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Julio Teheran improved to 5-4, allowing no hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the San Diego Padres 4-1 on Sunday. Teheran struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.97 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 5 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST4:29 PM CST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Teheran (right thumb contusion) will start on Sunday against the Padres after throwing a bullpen session with no problems.
Analysis: Teheran will miss only one start with an injury he sustained against San Diego on June 4. The right-hander could still be a risky play, as he's 1-3 with a 6.11 ERA over his last five starts.
June 5 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Julio Teheran walked Pirela opening the fifth inning in Monday's 11-4 loss to the Padres and then was visited for the second time in the game by the team trainer. He then came out with an undisclosed injury.
Analysis: Teheran fell to 4-4, allowing four runs on five hits and three walks in 4.0 innings. Teheran struck out two, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 30 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Julio Teheran fell to 4-3, allowing two runs on five hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the New York Mets 4-1 on Wednesday. Teheran struck out three, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 25 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Julio Teheran fell to 4-2, allowing three runs on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-2 on Friday. Teheran struck out four, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
May 20 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST3:02 PM CST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed six runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Miami Marlins 10-9 on Sunday. Teheran struck out four, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
May 14 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST3:40 PM CST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Julio Teheran improved to 4-1, allowing four runs on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Monday. Teheran struck out one, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The 27-year-old right-hander had a scoreless streak of 16 2/3 innings before Albert Almora's second homer of the season.
May 9 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Julio Teheran improved to 3-1, allowing four hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-2 on Wednesday. Teheran struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was the third time in four starts that the right-hander has not given up a run.
May 3 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST1:54 PM CST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Julio Teheran improved to 2-1, allowing two hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the New York Mets 11-0 on Thursday. Teheran struck out six, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 6:04 PM PT7:04 PM MT8:04 PM CT9:04 PM ET21:04 ET1:04 GMT9:04 6:04 PM MST8:04 PM EST7:04 PM CST8:34 PM VEN5:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Teheran left Friday night's start against the Phillies after three innings because of tightness in his right upper trapezius. Braves manager Brian Snitker said it's not serious and expects Teheran to make his next start.
Analysis: Teheran allowed a three-run homer in the first inning but didn't allow a hit in the next two innings before coming out. He was replaced by Max Fried. Teheran is 1-1 with a 4.50 ERA in six starts.
Apr. 21 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed four hits and one walk without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the New York Mets 4-3 on Saturday. Teheran struck out six, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Julio Teheran improved to 1-1, allowing one run on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1 on Monday. Teheran struck out nine, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 6:33 PM PT7:33 PM MT8:33 PM CT9:33 PM ET21:33 ET1:33 GMT9:33 6:33 PM MST8:33 PM EST7:33 PM CST9:03 PM VEN5:33 UAE (+1)8:33 PM CT-Julio Teheran fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Washington Nationals 2-0 on Monday. Teheran struck out seven, ending the game with a 7.07 ERA and 1.79 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed five runs on six hits and three walks in 2.1 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Washington Nationals 13-6 on Tuesday. Teheran struck out two, ending the game with a 10.13 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST5:44 PM CST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)6:44 PM CT-Julio Teheran allowed four runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 8-5 on Thursday. Teheran struck out three, ending the game with a 6.35 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 19 11:09 AM PT12:09 PM MT1:09 PM CT2:09 PM ET14:09 ET18:09 GMT2:09 11:09 AM MST1:09 PM EST12:09 PM CST1:39 PM VEN22:09 UAE12:09 PM CT-Teheran will start the Braves' season opener against Philadelphia on March 29.
Analysis: It's the fifth straight year that Teheran has received the opening day nod, and he's gone 1-1 with a 1.88 ERA over those previous four starts. The right-hander again figures to be a dependable fantasy pitcher, as he's thrown 185 innings or more in five consecutive seasons and has won 11 or more games four times during that stretch.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 Atl 1 1 0 - 0 5 3 0 19.2 21 11 11 4 8 0 10 1.47 5.03
2012 Atl 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 6.1 5 4 4 0 1 0 5 0.95 5.68
2013 Atl 14 8 0 - 0 30 30 0 185.2 173 69 66 22 45 4 170 1.17 3.20
2014 Atl 14 13 0 - 0 33 33 4 221.0 188 82 71 22 51 4 186 1.08 2.89
2015 Atl 11 8 0 - 0 33 33 0 200.2 189 99 90 27 73 3 171 1.31 4.04
2016 Atl 7 10 0 - 0 30 30 1 188.0 157 70 67 22 41 2 167 1.05 3.21
2017 Atl 11 13 0 - 0 32 32 0 188.1 186 103 94 31 72 3 151 1.37 4.49
2018 Atl 9 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 175.2 122 80 77 26 84 3 162 1.17 3.94
Career 67 62 0 - 0 196 193 5 1185.1 1041 518 480 154 375 19 1022 1.19 3.64

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Atl 5 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Atl 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2013 Atl 30 58 1 13 3 0 0 2 2 16 0 0 .224 .250 .276
2014 Atl 33 66 1 7 1 0 0 6 1 21 0 0 .106 .132 .121
2015 Atl 33 52 0 5 0 0 0 2 2 9 0 0 .096 .130 .096
2016 Atl 31 49 1 10 1 0 0 2 1 16 0 0 .204 .220 .224
2017 Atl 37 57 4 8 0 0 0 6 1 17 0 0 .140 .167 .140
2018 Atl 31 40 2 7 0 0 1 4 1 8 0 0 .175 .190 .250
Career 202 327 9 50 5 0 1 22 9 88 0 0 .153 .179 .177

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Atl Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.2 8 6 6 1 1 0 5 20.25
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.2 8 6 6 1 1 0 5 20.25
2018 Atl Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 4.1 9 6 6 1 1 0 7 12.46

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Atl Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1740 94 84 89.8 62.12
Curveball 188 78 66 72.5 6.71
Slider 610 84 75 80.2 21.78
Changeup 263 86 78 82.6 9.39

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Minor League Baseball
International League
Memphis 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Durham 
ATP Scoreboard
Monday, Oct. 15
Intrum Stockholm Open (ATP)
First Round
D. Kudla6 7    
G. Garcia-Lop2 5    
E. Ymer4 7 7   
M. Marterer6 5 5   
 
European Open (ATP)
First Round
L. Mayer3 5    
V. Pospisil6 7    
J. Munar4 4    
J. Vesely6 6    
M. McDonald6 710    
N. Jarry1 68    
(7) F. Tiafoe4 65    
F. Lopez6 77    
 
VTB Kremlin Cup (ATP/WTA)
First Round
L. Djere7 4 62   
A. Bedene5 6 77   
A. Mannarino3 6 77   
E. Karlovskiy6 4 64   
L. Rosol6 4 6   
M. Berrettini3 6 4   
 
WTA Scoreboard
Monday, Oct. 15
BGL Luxembourg Open (WTA)
First Round
(8) P. Parmentier710 6    
V. Golubic68 2    
V. Lapko6 5 6   
C. Witthoeft4 7 4   
(6) D. Vekic6 6    
A. Schmiedlov0 1    
A. Blinkova6 7    
T. Maria2 5    
 
VTB Kremlin Cup (ATP/WTA)
First Round
A. Pavlyuchen7 6    
A. Tomljanovi5 4    
(8) A. Kontaveit2 6 7   
A. Potapova6 3 5   
A. Sasnovich6 6    
M. Buzarnescu3 4    
(5) A. Sevastova4 7 6   
M. Rybarikova6 5 3   
(6) D. Kasatkina6 77    
L. Tsurenko4 61    
Y. Putintseva6 6    
I. Begu2 0