MLB Baseball

#46
José Alvarado
ERA S K
4.80 7 39
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-2 / 245
Position: RPBorn: 5/21/1995 Birthplace: Maracaibo, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Rays (2012)


Latest News
Aug. 24 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Jose Alvarado fell to 1-6, allowing one run on one hit and three walks in 0.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-1 on Saturday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.87 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 9:58 PM PT10:58 PM MT11:58 PM CT12:58 AM ET0:58 ET4:58 GMT12:58 9:58 PM MST11:58 PM EST10:58 PM CST12:28 AM VEN8:58 UAE11:58 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-2 on Thursday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.55 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Jose Alvarado walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 9-3 on Monday. Alvarado struck out three, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Jose Alvarado improved to 1-5, allowing no hits and two walks over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Sunday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 10:58 PM PT11:58 PM MT12:58 AM CT1:58 AM ET1:58 ET5:58 GMT13:58 10:58 PM MST12:58 AM EST11:58 PM CST1:28 AM VEN9:58 UAE12:58 AM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the San Diego Padres 7-5 on Tuesday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 4.94 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
July 6 5:42 PM PT6:42 PM MT7:42 PM CT8:42 PM ET20:42 ET0:42 GMT8:42 5:42 PM MST7:42 PM EST6:42 PM CST8:12 PM VEN4:42 UAE (+1)7:42 PM CT-Alvarado (right oblique strain) was activated from the injured list before Tuesday's game in San Diego.
Analysis: Alvarado, who last pitched July 6, has seven saves this season as part of a bullpen that often alternates closers.
July 3 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Jose Alvarado fell to 0-5, allowing six runs - five earned - on four hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 9-6 on Wednesday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.85 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
July 1 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Jose Alvarado recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-3 on Monday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 29 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST5:10 PM CST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Texas Rangers 5-2 on Saturday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.33 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 2 7:31 AM PT8:31 AM MT9:31 AM CT10:31 AM ET10:31 ET14:31 GMT22:31 7:31 AM MST9:31 AM EST8:31 AM CST10:01 AM VEN18:31 UAE9:31 AM CT-The Rays have reinstated Alvarado (personal) from the restricted list.
Analysis: Alvarado hasn't pitched at all this month due to a personal matter that caused him to leave the team for an extensive period to travel to his native Venezuela. The left-hander, who has six saves and a 3.09 ERA in 26 appearances this season, could find himself again part of a closer committee out of the bullpen.
June 1 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST2:51 PM CST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-2 on Saturday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 31 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Jose Alvarado walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 5-3 on Friday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.22 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
May 29 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Jose Alvarado blew his second save, allowing one run on two hits and two walks without recording an out, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-3 on Wednesday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
May 27 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Jose Alvarado walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-3 on Monday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 26 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST2:33 PM CST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Jose Alvarado recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Cleveland Indians 6-3 on Sunday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 3.05 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 24 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Jose Alvarado fell to 0-4, allowing two runs on two hits and three walks in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Cleveland Indians 3-1 on Friday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 18 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Jose Alvarado recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Saturday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 2.37 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
May 17 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Jose Alvarado fell to 0-3, allowing three runs on four hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 4-3 on Friday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Miami Marlins 1-0 on Wednesday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 1.04 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 11 6:08 PM PT7:08 PM MT8:08 PM CT9:08 PM ET21:08 ET1:08 GMT9:08 6:08 PM MST8:08 PM EST7:08 PM CST8:38 PM VEN5:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 7-2 on Saturday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 1.13 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 8 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST3:53 PM CST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Jose Alvarado walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Wednesday. Alvarado struck out three, ending the game with a 1.20 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 4 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST7:31 PM CST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 3-0 on Saturday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 1.32 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST1:39 PM CST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-2 on Sunday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.38 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST5:30 PM CST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 2-1 on Saturday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST4:21 PM CST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Jose Alvarado fell to 0-2, allowing one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-3 on Sunday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 6:26 PM PT7:26 PM MT8:26 PM CT9:26 PM ET21:26 ET1:26 GMT9:26 6:26 PM MST8:26 PM EST7:26 PM CST8:56 PM VEN5:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-Jose Alvarado fell to 0-1, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-5 on Saturday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 0.87 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-5 on Thursday. Alvarado struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST7:54 PM CST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-2 on Tuesday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 11-7 on Friday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST4:09 PM CST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Jose Alvarado walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago White Sox 10-5 on Tuesday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)6:19 PM CT-Jose Alvarado recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the San Francisco Giants 3-0 on Sunday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 4:45 PM PT5:45 PM MT6:45 PM CT7:45 PM ET19:45 ET23:45 GMT7:45 4:45 PM MST6:45 PM EST5:45 PM CST7:15 PM VEN3:45 UAE (+1)6:45 PM CT-Jose Alvarado recorded his third save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-2 on Friday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST2:32 PM CST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Colorado Rockies 1-0 on Wednesday. Alvarado struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Colorado Rockies 7-1 on Monday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 5:54 PM PT6:54 PM MT7:54 PM CT8:54 PM ET20:54 ET0:54 GMT8:54 5:54 PM MST7:54 PM EST6:54 PM CST8:24 PM VEN4:54 UAE (+1)6:54 PM CT-Jose Alvarado recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 3-1 on Saturday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)7:50 PM CT-Jose Alvarado recorded his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 4-2 on Friday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 TB 0 3 0 - 0 35 0 0 29.2 24 12 12 1 9 1 29 1.11 3.64
2018 TB 1 6 8 - 12 70 0 0 64.0 42 21 17 1 29 4 80 1.11 2.39
2019 TB 1 6 7 - 9 35 1 0 30.0 29 18 16 2 27 3 39 1.87 4.80
Career 2 15 15 - 21 140 1 0 123.2 95 51 45 4 65 8 148 1.29 3.27



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 465 102 95 98.2 79.35
Curveball 21 89 84 86.9 3.58
Slider 100 95 86 92.4 17.06

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Teams Score Time
NCAA FB
NC State 27 F
West Virginia 44
Duke 41 F
Middle Tennessee 18
Teams Score Time
Arkansas State 0 F
Georgia 55
Furman 17 F
Virginia Tech 24
Maryland 17 F
Temple 20
NC State 27 F
West Virginia 44
Ohio State 51 F
Indiana 10
Pittsburgh 10 F
Penn State 17
The Citadel 27 F/OT
Georgia Tech 24
New Mexico 14 F
Notre Dame 66
Alabama 47 F
South Carolina 23
Stanford 27 F
UCF 45
USC 27 F/OT
BYU 30
Arizona State 10 F
Michigan State 7
Bethune-Cookman 0 F
Miami 63
Iowa 18 F
Iowa State 17
Louisville 38 F
Western Kentucky 21
Idaho State 0 F
Utah 31
Duke 41 F
Middle Tennessee 18
Florida 29 F
Kentucky 21
Kent State 16 F
Auburn 55
Lamar 3 F
Texas A&M 62
Clemson 41 F
Syracuse 6
Florida State 24 F
Virginia 31
Hawaii 20 F
Washington 52
Northwestern State 14 F
LSU 65
Oklahoma 48 F
UCLA 14
Texas 48 F
Rice 13
Portland State 10 F
Boise State 45
Montana 3 F
Oregon 35
Teams Score Time
Interleague
Boston 2 F
Philadelphia 1
Boston   1:05pm
Philadelphia  
American League
Minnesota 2 F
Cleveland 0
New York 13 F
Toronto 3
Baltimore 4 F
Detroit 8
Minnesota 9 F
Cleveland 5
Houston 6 F
Kansas City 1
Oakland 8 F
Texas 6
Tampa Bay 3 F
Los Angeles 1
Chicago 1 F
Seattle 2
New York   1:07pm
Toronto  
Baltimore   1:10pm
Detroit  
Minnesota   1:10pm
Cleveland  
Houston   2:15pm
Kansas City  
Oakland   3:05pm
Texas  
Tampa Bay   4:07pm
Los Angeles  
Chicago   4:10pm
Seattle  
National League
Pittsburgh 1 F
Chicago 14
Atlanta 10 F
Washington 1
Los Angeles 0 F
New York 3
Milwaukee 5 F
St. Louis 2
Cincinnati 0 F
Arizona 1
San Diego 10 F
Colorado 11
Miami 4 F
San Francisco 2
Atlanta   1:38pm
Washington  
Milwaukee   2:15pm
St. Louis  
Pittsburgh   2:20pm
Chicago  
San Diego   3:10pm
Colorado  
Miami   4:05pm
San Francisco  
Cincinnati   4:10pm
Arizona  
Los Angeles   7:08pm
New York  
Teams Score Time
Arizona   1:00pm
Baltimore  
Buffalo   1:00pm
New York  
Dallas   1:00pm
Washington  
Indianapolis   1:00pm
Tennessee  
Jacksonville   1:00pm
Houston  
Los Angeles   1:00pm
Detroit  
Minnesota   1:00pm
Green Bay  
New England   1:00pm
Miami  
San Francisco   1:00pm
Cincinnati  
Seattle   1:00pm
Pittsburgh  
Kansas City   4:05pm
Oakland  
Chicago   4:25pm
Denver  
New Orleans   4:25pm
Los Angeles  
Philadelphia   8:20pm
Atlanta  
Cleveland   Mon 8:15pm
New York  
Teams Score Time
Arizona   4:30pm
Vegas  
MONSTER ENERGY NASCAR CUP SERIES AT THE BRICKYARD
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 4 Kevin Harvick 1
2 22 Joey Logano 4
3 43 Darrell Wallace Jr 15
4 24 William Byron 29
5 14 Clint Bowyer 3
6 11 Denny Hamlin 33
7 12 Ryan Blaney 9
8 6 Ryan Newman 22
9 9 Chase Elliott 24
NASCAR XFINITY SERIES AT LAS VEGAS
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 2 Tyler Reddick 4
2 20 Christopher Bell 2
3 19 Brandon Jones 6
4 00 Cole Custer 1
5 7 Justin Allgaier 3
6 9 Noah Gragson 36
7 08 Gray Gaulding 16
8 23 John Hunter Nemechek 13
9 18 Riley Herbst 15
NASCAR GANDER OUTDOORS TRUCK SERIES AT LAS VEGAS
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 16 Austin Hill 7
2 45 Ross Chastain 2
3 51 Christian Eckes 1
4 2 Sheldon Creed 6
5 4 Todd Gilliland 3
6 30 Brennan Poole 18
7 24 Brett Moffitt 4
8 99 Ben Rhodes 13
9 18 Harrison Burton 9