MLB Baseball

#19
Masahiro Tanaka
ERA W-L K
2.94 3-3 58
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-3 / 218
Position: SPBorn: 11/1/1988 Birthplace: Itami, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Signed via MLB-Japan


Latest News
May 23 12:43 PM PT1:43 PM MT2:43 PM CT3:43 PM ET15:43 ET19:43 GMT3:43 12:43 PM MST2:43 PM EST1:43 PM CST3:13 PM VEN23:43 UAE2:43 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-5 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out five, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 19 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST3:43 PM CST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Yankees manager Aaron Boone said Sunday that Tanaka was still dealing with some soreness one day after being hit in the right shin by a ground ball. He added that the team has yet to determine whether the right-hander will make his next scheduled start.
Analysis: Tanaka is next slated to pitch Thursday afternoon in Baltimore, which leaves those in weekly leagues in a bit of a dilemma. Keep in mind the Yankees have been very cautious with injured players throughout this season.
May 18 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed three hits without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Saturday. Tanaka struck out six, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tanaka had a ball ricochet off his right shin. The Yankees said X-rays of Tanaka's shin were negative. It's uncertain whether this will hamper him moving forward.
May 12 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 3-3, allowing one run on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-1 on Sunday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 7 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Tuesday. Tanaka struck out four, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
May 1 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST4:55 PM CST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 2-3, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Wednesday. Tanaka struck out six, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 2-2, allowing six runs - five earned - on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Los Angeles Angels 11-5 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out two, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 2-1, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 9-2 on Saturday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.76 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 1-1, allowing five runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-2 on Sunday. Tanaka struck out six, ending the game with a 3.22 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 4-3 on Monday. Tanaka struck out three, ending the game with a 1.47 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST7:22 PM CST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed one run on eight hits in 6.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-1 on Tuesday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.46 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)2:22 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 1-0, allowing two runs - one earned - on six hits in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-2 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out five, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 NYY 13 5 0 - 0 20 20 3 136.1 123 47 42 15 21 0 141 1.06 2.77
2015 NYY 12 7 0 - 0 24 24 1 154.0 126 66 60 25 27 0 139 0.99 3.51
2016 NYY 14 4 0 - 0 31 31 0 199.2 179 75 68 22 36 0 165 1.08 3.07
2017 NYY 13 12 0 - 0 30 30 1 178.1 180 100 94 35 41 1 194 1.24 4.74
2018 NYY 12 6 0 - 0 27 27 1 156.0 141 68 65 25 35 0 159 1.13 3.75
2019 NYY 3 3 0 - 0 11 11 0 64.1 57 23 21 8 15 0 58 1.12 2.94
Career 67 37 0 - 0 143 143 6 888.2 806 379 350 130 175 1 856 1.10 3.54

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 NYY 20 9 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .111 .111 .111
2015 NYY 24 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .125 .000
2016 NYY 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 NYY 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 NYY 27 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 NYY 11 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 143 27 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 12 0 0 .037 .071 .037

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 2 3 0 3 3.60
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 2 3 0 3 3.60
2017 NYY Total 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 20.0 10 2 2 0 3 0 18 0.90
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 3 0 0 0 1 0 7 0.00
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 7 2 2 0 2 0 11 1.38
2018 NYY Total 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 1 1 1 1 0 4 1.80
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 1 1 1 1 0 4 1.80
Career 3 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 30.0 17 5 5 3 7 0 25 1.50


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 276 95 87 91.4 29.46
Curveball 34 80 73 77.2 3.63
Slider 357 87 79 83.3 38.1
Changeup 23 86 82 84.4 2.45
Split-Finger 228 91 84 87.4 24.33
Cut Fastball 19 89 85 87.5 2.03

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

NHL Scoreboard
Monday, May 27
St. Louis 5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 5:00 MST6:00 CST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)20:00 ET21:00 BRT
Boston 
Minor League Baseball
International League
Pawtucket 2:05 PT3:05 MT4:05 CT5:05 ET3:05 MT5:05 ET10:05 GMT6:05 北京时间
Rochester 
Scranton/Wilkes-Barre 3:35 PT4:35 MT5:35 CT6:35 ET4:35 MT6:35 ET11:35 GMT7:35 北京时间
Syracuse 
Toledo 4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET5:00 MT7:00 ET12:00 GMT8:00 北京时间
Louisville 
Durham 4:04 PT5:04 MT6:04 CT7:04 ET5:04 MT7:04 ET12:04 GMT8:04 北京时间
Charlotte 
Buffalo 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET5:05 MT7:05 ET12:05 GMT8:05 北京时间
Lehigh Valley 
Norfolk 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET5:05 MT7:05 ET12:05 GMT8:05 北京时间
Gwinnett 
Indianapolis 4:15 PT5:15 MT6:15 CT7:15 ET5:15 MT7:15 ET12:15 GMT8:15 北京时间
Columbus 
Pawtucket 4:35 PT5:35 MT6:35 CT7:35 ET5:35 MT7:35 ET12:35 GMT8:35 北京时间
Rochester 
ATP Scoreboard
Friday, May 24
Geneva Open (ATP)
Semifinals
(5) R. Albot 
N. Jarry 
(1) A. Zverev 
F. Delbonis 
 
Lyon Open (ATP)
Semifinals
B. Paire 
T. Fritz 
(1) N. Basilashvi 
(4) F. Auger-Alia 
 
WTA Scoreboard
Friday, May 24
Internationaux de Strasbo (WTA)
Semifinals
(2) A. Sabalenka2     
(6) D. Yastremska3     
(4) C. Garcia 
C. Paquet 
 
Nuremburg Cup (WTA)
Semifinals
(1) Y. Putintseva6 0    
S. Cirstea4 0    
(2) K. Siniakova 
T. Zidansek