MLB Baseball

#24
Chris Archer
ERA W-L K
5.19 3-9 143
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-2 / 195
Position: SPBorn: 9/26/1988 Birthplace: Clayton, North Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 6th Round by Indians (2006)


Latest News
Aug. 21 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST2:07 PM CST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Archer has been placed on the 10-day injured list after leaving Tuesday's start against the Nationals after one inning with right shoulder inflammation.
Analysis: It's been a tough season for Archer, whose last win came June 6. He did post a 3.18 ERA, though, in his first three August starts. It's possible the Pirates could shut him down for the rest of the season.
Aug. 20 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Washington Nationals 4-1 on Tuesday. Archer struck out two, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-9, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Angels 7-4 on Wednesday. Archer struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST9:11 PM CST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)10:11 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed two runs on seven hits in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-2 on Friday. Archer struck out nine, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 7-5 on Saturday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 5.35 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-8, allowing six runs - five earned - on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 8-7 on Sunday. Archer struck out four, ending the game with a 5.58 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
July 23 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-7, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3 on Tuesday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 17 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-5 on Wednesday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.36 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 12 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST3:50 PM CST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed three runs on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Friday. Archer struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.42 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Wednesday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.49 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
June 29 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST10:51 PM CST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE11:51 PM CT-Archer might not start Wednesday against the Cubs after being pulled after four innings from his start in Milwaukee on Friday night due to left hip discomfort.
Analysis: Archer has gone 2-5 with a 6.75 ERA in his last 10 starts.
June 22 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST5:31 PM CST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)6:31 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Diego Padres 6-3 on Saturday. Archer struck out five, ending the game with a 5.56 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed four runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Sunday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.85 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 12 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-6, allowing seven runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-5 on Tuesday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
June 6 12:42 PM PT1:42 PM MT2:42 PM CT3:42 PM ET15:42 ET19:42 GMT3:42 12:42 PM MST2:42 PM EST1:42 PM CST3:12 PM VEN23:42 UAE2:42 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 3-5, allowing one run on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-1 on Thursday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 5.20 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 31 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 2-5, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 9-4 on Friday. Archer struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.66 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 26 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 1-5, allowing four runs on six hits and six walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 11-7 on Sunday. Archer struck out three, ending the game with a 5.75 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
May 21 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 1-4, allowing four runs - three earned - on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-0 on Tuesday. Archer struck out three, ending the game with a 5.55 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 15 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST4:42 PM CST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 1-3, allowing seven runs - six earned - on four hits and four walks in 3.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 11-1 on Wednesday. Archer struck out five, ending the game with a 5.58 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)6:19 PM CT-Archer (right thumb inflammation) has been activated from the injured list to start Wednesday against Arizona.
Analysis: Archer was given the green light after having no issues getting through a four-inning, 60-pitch simulated game Friday in St. Louis. The two-time All-Star went 1-2 with a 4.33 in five starts before landing on the IL on April 27.
Apr. 27 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE12:05 AM CT-Chris Archer fell to 1-2, allowing six runs on six hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-2 on Friday. Archer struck out three, ending the game with a 4.33 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 1:29 PM PT2:29 PM MT3:29 PM CT4:29 PM ET16:29 ET20:29 GMT4:29 1:29 PM MST3:29 PM EST2:29 PM CST3:59 PM VEN0:29 UAE (+1)3:29 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 1-1, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-2 on Sunday. Archer struck out two, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST9:52 AM CST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Archer will begin serving his suspension Sunday.
Analysis: Archer (1-0, 2.00 ERA) was suspended five games for his role in a benches-clearing fracas last Sunday against the Reds. He's expected to start next Sunday against the Giants.
Apr. 13 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST4:32 PM CST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Washington Nationals 3-2 on Saturday. Archer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 11:13 AM PT12:13 PM MT1:13 PM CT2:13 PM ET14:13 ET18:13 GMT2:13 11:13 AM MST1:13 PM EST12:13 PM CST1:43 PM VEN22:13 UAE1:13 PM CT-Archer has been suspended for five games for his role in a benches-clearing fracas Sunday against the Reds.
Analysis: Archer started the incident when he threw behind Derek Dietrich after he admired a home run off him in his previous plate appearance.
Apr. 7 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 1-0, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-5 on Sunday. Archer struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST4:02 PM CST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed two hits and three walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-5 on Monday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 TB 1 3 0 - 0 6 4 0 29.1 23 17 15 3 13 0 36 1.23 4.60
2013 TB 9 7 0 - 0 23 23 2 128.2 107 49 46 15 38 2 101 1.13 3.22
2014 TB 10 9 0 - 0 32 32 0 194.2 177 85 72 12 72 1 173 1.28 3.33
2015 TB 12 13 0 - 0 34 34 1 212.0 175 85 76 19 66 0 252 1.14 3.23
2016 TB 9 19 0 - 0 33 33 0 201.1 183 100 90 30 67 0 233 1.24 4.02
2017 TB 10 12 0 - 0 34 34 0 201.0 193 101 91 27 60 0 249 1.26 4.07
2018 TB 3 5 0 - 0 17 17 0 96.0 102 50 46 11 31 0 102 1.39 4.31
2018 Pit 3 3 0 - 0 10 10 0 52.1 53 27 25 8 18 3 60 1.36 4.30
2018 Tot 6 8 0 - 0 27 27 0 148.1 155 77 71 19 49 3 162 1.38 4.31
2019 Pit 3 9 0 - 0 23 23 0 119.2 114 73 69 25 55 2 143 1.41 5.19
Career 60 80 0 - 0 212 210 3 1235.0 1127 587 530 150 420 8 1349 1.25 3.86

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 TB 8 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 .000 .000 .000
2013 TB 23 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 TB 32 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 TB 34 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 TB 33 7 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .125 .000
2017 TB 34 8 1 2 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2018 Pit 10 17 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .118 .118 .176
2018 Tot 27 17 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .118 .118 .176
2019 Pit 23 35 1 4 0 0 0 2 3 19 0 0 .114 .184 .114
Career 214 80 4 8 1 0 0 3 4 38 0 1 .100 .143 .113

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1059 97 90 94.1 50.48
Curveball 40 85 79 82.1 1.91
Slider 747 94 84 88.7 35.61
Changeup 252 91 84 87.7 12.01

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Teams Score Time
Miami   7:00pm
Florida  
Arizona   10:30pm
Hawaii  
Teams Score Time
Interleague
Boston 11 F
San Diego 0
New York 10 F
Los Angeles 2
New York   4:05pm
Los Angeles  
Boston   8:40pm
San Diego  
San Francisco   9:07pm
Oakland  
American League
Tampa Bay 7 F
Baltimore 1
Kansas City 1 F
Cleveland 4
Detroit 9 F
Minnesota 6
Los Angeles 4 F
Houston 5
Texas 3 F
Chicago 8
Toronto 4 F
Seattle 7
Tampa Bay   7:05pm
Baltimore  
Detroit   7:10pm
Minnesota  
Kansas City   7:10pm
Cleveland  
Los Angeles   7:10pm
Houston  
Texas   7:10pm
Chicago  
Toronto   9:10pm
Seattle  
National League
Washington 9 F
Chicago 3
Cincinnati 2 F
Pittsburgh 3
Atlanta 2 F
New York 1
Philadelphia 11 F
Miami 19
Arizona 1 F
Milwaukee 6
Colorado 3 F
St. Louis 8
Washington   2:20pm
Chicago  
Philadelphia   6:10pm
Miami  
Cincinnati   7:05pm
Pittsburgh  
Arizona   7:10pm
Milwaukee  
Atlanta   7:10pm
New York  
Colorado   7:15pm
St. Louis  
Teams Score Time
Cleveland 12 F
Tampa Bay 13
Buffalo 24 F
Detroit 20
Arizona   1:00pm
Minnesota  
Chicago   7:00pm
Indianapolis  
Houston   7:00pm
Dallas  
New Orleans   7:30pm
New York  
San Francisco   8:00pm
Kansas City  
Denver   9:00pm
Los Angeles  
Seattle   10:00pm
Los Angeles  
Pittsburgh   Sun 8:00pm
Tennessee  
Tour Championship
Pos Name Score Thru
1 Brooks Koepka -13 3:20pm
2 Justin Thomas -12 3:20pm
2 Rory McIlroy -12 3:10pm
4 Xander Schauffele -11 3:10pm
5 Paul Casey -9 3:00pm
6 Patrick Cantlay -7 3:00pm
7 Patrick Reed -6 2:50pm
7 Matt Kuchar -6 2:40pm
7 Chez Reavie -6 2:50pm
MONSTER ENERGY NASCAR CUP SERIES AT BRISTOL
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 11 Denny Hamlin 1
2 95 Matt Dibenedetto 7
3 2 Brad Keselowski 13
4 18 Kyle Busch 31
5 9 Chase Elliott 6
6 42 Kyle Larson 2
7 14 Clint Bowyer 20
8 41 Daniel Suarez 18
9 1 Kurt Busch 4
NASCAR XFINITY SERIES AT BRISTOL
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 2 Tyler Reddick 38
2 98 Chase Briscoe 6
3 23 John Hunter Nemechek 9
4 51 Jeremy Clements 5
5 22 Austin Cindric 1
6 08 Gray Gaulding 13
7 61 Timmy Hill 21
8 7 Justin Allgaier 3
9 1 Michael Annett 15
NASCAR GANDER OUTDOORS TRUCK SERIES AT BRISTOL
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 24 Brett Moffitt 1
2 51 Chandler Smith 7
3 4 Ross Chastain 2
4 52 Stewart Friesen 3
5 98 Grant Enfinger 14
6 2 Sheldon Creed 24
7 88 Matt Crafton 11
8 99 Ben Rhodes 4
9 4 Todd Gilliland 17