MLB Baseball

#56
Spencer Turnbull
ERA W-L K
4.61 3-17 146
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 211
Position: SPBorn: 9/18/1992 Birthplace: Demopolis, Alabama
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Tigers (2014)


Latest News
Sep. 29 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST3:54 PM CST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-17, allowing four runs - three earned - on three hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-3 on Sunday. Turnbull struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.61 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 6:37 PM PT7:37 PM MT8:37 PM CT9:37 PM ET21:37 ET1:37 GMT9:37 6:37 PM MST8:37 PM EST7:37 PM CST9:07 PM VEN5:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-16, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-2 on Tuesday. Turnbull struck out five, ending the game with a 4.59 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull allowed one run on six hits in 5.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 2-1 on Wednesday. Turnbull struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 5:28 PM PT6:28 PM MT7:28 PM CT8:28 PM ET20:28 ET0:28 GMT8:28 5:28 PM MST7:28 PM EST6:28 PM CST7:58 PM VEN4:28 UAE (+1)7:28 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-15, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the New York Yankees 6-4 on Thursday. Turnbull struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.77 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 10:55 PM PT11:55 PM MT12:55 AM CT1:55 AM ET1:55 ET5:55 GMT13:55 10:55 PM MST12:55 AM EST11:55 PM CST1:25 AM VEN9:55 UAE12:55 AM CT-Spencer Turnbull allowed four runs on four hits and three walks in 1.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Oakland Athletics 5-4 on Friday. Turnbull struck out two, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST2:45 PM CST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-14, allowing six runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 8-3 on Sunday. Turnbull struck out four, ending the game with a 4.45 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-13, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 10-1 on Tuesday. Turnbull struck out three, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-12, allowing five runs on six hits and three walks in 3.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 6-3 on Tuesday. Turnbull struck out three, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST2:05 PM CST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-11, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-2 on Thursday. Turnbull struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 6:03 PM PT7:03 PM MT8:03 PM CT9:03 PM ET21:03 ET1:03 GMT9:03 6:03 PM MST8:03 PM EST7:03 PM CST8:33 PM VEN5:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-10, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-0 on Saturday. Turnbull struck out three, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull allowed two runs on two hits and three walks in 3.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-4 on Monday. Turnbull struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
July 17 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-9, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 7-2 on Wednesday. Turnbull struck out three, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 12 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull allowed five runs - four earned - on four hits and three walks in 3.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 8-5 on Friday. Turnbull struck out one, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
June 27 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST2:07 PM CST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Turnbull (shoulder fatigue) will come off the injured list and start Friday against the Royals.
Analysis: Turnbull will be making his first start since exiting a June 27 start against Texas after two innings, and it's unclear if he'll be put on a pitch limit. The rookie is just 3-8 on the season but has often been plagued by a lack of run support, as his 3.34 ERA and 1.34 WHIP will attest.
June 22 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST5:02 PM CST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-7, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 2-0 on Saturday. Turnbull struck out four, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST2:01 PM CST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-6, allowing six runs on 10 hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 8-0 on Sunday. Turnbull struck out four, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 11 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 3-2 on Tuesday. Turnbull struck out five, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 5 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 3-5, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-0 on Wednesday. Turnbull struck out four, ending the game with a 3.01 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
May 31 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull improved to 3-4, allowing two runs - one earned - on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Atlanta Braves 8-2 on Friday. Turnbull struck out two, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 28 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST1:55 PM CST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Turnbull will come off the bereavement list and start Friday against the Braves.
Analysis: Turnbull will remain on regular rest, as he last pitched Sunday. The 26-year-old has been a bright spot for the Tigers with a 2.96 ERA in 11 starts.
May 26 12:47 PM PT1:47 PM MT2:47 PM CT3:47 PM ET15:47 ET19:47 GMT3:47 12:47 PM MST2:47 PM EST1:47 PM CST3:17 PM VEN23:47 UAE2:47 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 2-4, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the New York Mets 4-3 on Sunday. Turnbull struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 21 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull allowed three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Tuesday. Turnbull struck out four, ending the game with a 2.68 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
May 16 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST2:10 PM CST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 2-3, allowing six runs - one earned - on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Oakland Athletics 17-3 on Thursday. Turnbull struck out six, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 11 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull allowed two runs on four hits and four walks in 5.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 5-3 on Saturday. Turnbull struck out six, ending the game with a 2.42 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 5 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST2:32 PM CST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull allowed one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-2 on Sunday. Turnbull struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull improved to 2-2, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 3-1 on Tuesday. Turnbull struck out five, ending the game with a 2.53 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull improved to 1-2, allowing three hits and four walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-2 on Tuesday. Turnbull struck out two, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull allowed one run - zero earned - on two hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-2 on Wednesday. Turnbull struck out five, ending the game with a 3.43 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 4-0 on Thursday. Turnbull struck out four, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST2:03 PM CST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull allowed three runs - two earned - on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-4 on Thursday. Turnbull struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST4:12 PM CST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Spencer Turnbull fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-0 on Saturday. Turnbull struck out five, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Det 0 2 0 - 0 4 3 0 16.1 17 11 11 1 4 0 15 1.29 6.06
2019 Det 3 17 0 - 0 30 30 0 148.1 154 86 76 14 59 1 146 1.44 4.61
Career 3 19 0 - 0 34 33 0 164.2 171 97 87 15 63 1 161 1.42 4.76

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 Det 4 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Det 30 8 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 34 10 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1715 97 89 93.8 64.5
Curveball 323 85 74 80.4 12.15
Slider 541 91 81 86.5 20.35
Changeup 80 91 82 86.7 3.01

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Teams Score Time
NCAA MBB
Alcorn State 8 11:52 1st
North Carolina State 19
NHL
Hurricanes   8:30pm
Blackhawks  
Teams Score Time
Alcorn State 8 11:52 1st
North Carolina State 19
Vermont 7 14:07 1st
Virginia 8
East Tennessee State   8:00pm
Kansas  
Fairfield   8:30pm
Maryland  
UT Arlington   9:00pm
Gonzaga  
Maine   11:00pm
Washington  
Teams Score Time
Warriors   8:00pm
Grizzlies  
Trail Blazers   8:00pm
Pelicans  
Suns   10:00pm
Kings  
Thunder   10:30pm
Lakers  
Teams Score Time
Bruins 0 14:10 1st
Devils 0
Wild 0 16:30 1st
Sabres 0
Canadiens 0 14:59 1st
Blue Jackets 1
Islanders 0 15:29 1st
Penguins 0
Flyers 0 15:49 1st
Panthers 0
Senators   7:30pm
Red Wings  
Lightning   8:00pm
Blues  
Jets   8:00pm
Predators  
Hurricanes   8:30pm
Blackhawks  
Canucks   8:30pm
Stars  
Avalanche   9:00pm
Flames  
Maple Leafs   10:00pm
Golden Knights  
Oilers   10:30pm
Sharks  
MONSTER ENERGY NASCAR CUP SERIES AT MIAMI
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 18 Kyle Busch 4
2 19 Martin Truex Jr 3
3 20 Erik Jones 16
4 4 Kevin Harvick 2
5 22 Joey Logano 5
6 14 Clint Bowyer 10
7 6 Ryan Newman 15
8 3 Austin Dillon 22
9 88 Alex Bowman 12
NASCAR XFINITY SERIES AT MIAMI
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 2 Tyler Reddick 1
2 00 Cole Custer 2
3 98 Chase Briscoe 5
4 9 Noah Gragson 10
5 20 Christopher Bell 7
6 36 John Hunter Nemechek 6
7 22 Austin Cindric 3
8 19 Brandon Jones 4
9 8 Jeb Burton 18
FORD ECOBOOST 200
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 16 Austin Hill 5
2 88 Matt Crafton 9
3 51 Christian Eckes 2
4 45 Ross Chastain 3
5 24 Brett Moffitt 4
6 13 Johnny Sauter 6
7 98 Grant Enfinger 7
8 4 Todd Gilliland 11
9 2 Sheldon Creed 12