MLB Baseball

#48
Matthew Boyd
ERA W-L K
4.56 9-12 238
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 234
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1991 Birthplace: Mercer Island, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 6th Round by Blue Jays (2013)


Latest News
Sep. 28 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST4:31 PM CST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 9-12, allowing four runs - two earned - on six hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-1 on Saturday. Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 22 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 9-11, allowing three runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-3 on Sunday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 11:20 AM PT12:20 PM MT1:20 PM CT2:20 PM ET14:20 ET18:20 GMT2:20 11:20 AM MST1:20 PM EST12:20 PM CST1:50 PM VEN22:20 UAE1:20 PM CT-Boyd will not start Tuesday in Cleveland due to a family matter.
Analysis: Boyd (8-11, 4.54 ERA) leads the lowly Tigers in wins, and his 228 strikeouts rank among the AL leaders.
Sep. 12 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST2:55 PM CST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 8-11, allowing four runs - two earned - on three hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the New York Yankees 10-4 on Thursday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 8-10, allowing three runs on 10 hits in 6.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-4 on Thursday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 6:35 PM PT7:35 PM MT8:35 PM CT9:35 PM ET21:35 ET1:35 GMT9:35 6:35 PM MST8:35 PM EST7:35 PM CST9:05 PM VEN5:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 7-10, allowing five runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 10-7 on Saturday. Boyd struck out 11, ending the game with a 4.58 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST3:10 PM CST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-10, allowing seven runs on four hits and five walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-4 on Sunday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST3:10 PM CST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-10, allowing seven runs on four hits and five walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-4 on Sunday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST1:48 PM CST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-Boyd came off the paternity leave list Friday and is expected to start Sunday against the Twins.
Analysis: Boyd won't miss a start after allowing a run and two hits with nine strikeouts over seven innings at Tampa on Sunday. The left-hander is 6-9 with a 4.24 ERA but ranks among the AL leaders with 201 strikeouts in 153 innings.
Aug. 18 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Sunday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-9, allowing seven runs - six earned - on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 11-6 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed five runs on six hits and three walks in 2.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-8 on Thursday. Boyd struck out one, ending the game with a 4.16 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 5-4 on Saturday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 28 6:19 PM PT7:19 PM MT8:19 PM CT9:19 PM ET21:19 ET1:19 GMT9:19 6:19 PM MST8:19 PM EST7:19 PM CST8:49 PM VEN5:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 6.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 3-2 on Sunday. Boyd struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 24 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST10:22 PM CST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.07 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 18 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-8, allowing five runs on six hits in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-3 on Thursday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 13 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-7, allowing four runs on six hits and four walks in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-1 on Saturday. Boyd struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 4 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 6-6, allowing four runs on nine hits in 5.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Chicago White Sox 11-5 on Thursday. Boyd struck out 13, ending the game with a 3.87 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
June 26 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST7:32 PM CST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 5-6, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 4-1 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
June 21 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed five runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 7-6 on Friday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 3.61 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 13 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 5-5, allowing five runs - four earned - on six hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Thursday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 7 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on nine hits in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-3 on Friday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 2 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST2:44 PM CST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on five hits in 5.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-4 on Sunday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.01 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 5-4, allowing six hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-0 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.85 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 23 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed five hits and one walk without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Miami Marlins 5-2 on Thursday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
May 18 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST4:56 PM CST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 4-4, allowing four runs on seven hits in 6.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-1 on Saturday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
May 13 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 4-3, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 8-1 on Monday. Boyd struck out two, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 4-2, allowing one run on three hits in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 10-3 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 2.86 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 3 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 3-2, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 4-3 on Friday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.05 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-2, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 4-1 on Sunday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 2-1, allowing three runs on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:46 PM PT7:46 PM MT8:46 PM CT9:46 PM ET21:46 ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST8:46 PM EST7:46 PM CST9:16 PM VEN5:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-3 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 1-1, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-1 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 2.60 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST4:48 PM CST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on five hits and three walks in 6.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out 13, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 6:38 PM PT7:38 PM MT8:38 PM CT9:38 PM ET21:38 ET1:38 GMT9:38 6:38 PM MST8:38 PM EST7:38 PM CST9:08 PM VEN5:38 UAE (+1)7:38 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 0-1, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-0 on Friday. Boyd struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Tor 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.2 15 11 11 5 1 0 7 2.40 14.85
2015 Det 1 4 0 - 0 11 10 0 50.2 56 39 37 12 19 0 36 1.48 6.57
2015 Tot 1 6 0 - 0 13 12 0 57.1 71 50 48 17 20 0 43 1.59 7.53
2016 Det 6 5 0 - 0 20 18 0 97.1 97 51 49 17 29 0 82 1.29 4.53
2017 Det 6 11 0 - 0 26 25 1 135.0 157 84 79 18 53 3 110 1.56 5.27
2018 Det 9 13 0 - 0 31 31 0 170.1 146 87 83 27 51 0 159 1.16 4.39
2019 Det 9 12 0 - 0 32 32 0 185.1 178 101 94 39 50 1 238 1.23 4.56
Career 31 47 0 - 0 122 118 1 645.1 649 373 353 118 203 4 632 1.32 4.92

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Det 26 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2018 Det 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Det 32 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 122 7 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .286 .286 .286


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1661 96 86 92 53.79
Curveball 124 76 69 72.3 4.02
Slider 1118 85 75 79.7 36.2
Changeup 185 82 76 79.2 5.99

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Teams Score Time
NCAA FB
NC State   Sat 12:00pm
Boston College  
Duke   Sat 3:30pm
Virginia  
North Carolina   Sat 3:30pm
Virginia Tech  
NHL
Carolina   10:00pm
Anaheim  
Teams Score Time
Pittsburgh   7:00pm
Syracuse  
Ohio State   8:30pm
Northwestern  
Auburn   Sat 12:00pm
Arkansas  
Clemson   Sat 12:00pm
Louisville  
Florida   Sat 12:00pm
South Carolina  
Georgia Tech   Sat 12:00pm
Miami  
NC State   Sat 12:00pm
Boston College  
Purdue   Sat 12:00pm
Iowa  
West Virginia   Sat 12:00pm
Oklahoma  
Wisconsin   Sat 12:00pm
Illinois  
Duke   Sat 3:30pm
Virginia  
LSU   Sat 3:30pm
Mississippi State  
Minnesota   Sat 3:30pm
Rutgers  
North Carolina   Sat 3:30pm
Virginia Tech  
Oregon   Sat 3:30pm
Washington  
Temple   Sat 3:30pm
SMU  
Tulsa   Sat 3:30pm
Cincinnati  
UL Monroe   Sat 3:30pm
Appalachian State  
Baylor   Sat 4:00pm
Oklahoma State  
Missouri   Sat 4:00pm
Vanderbilt  
Arizona State   Sat 6:00pm
Utah  
Kentucky   Sat 6:00pm
Georgia  
Kansas   Sat 7:00pm
Texas  
Florida State   Sat 7:30pm
Wake Forest  
Michigan   Sat 7:30pm
Penn State  
Tennessee   Sat 9:00pm
Alabama  
Boise State   Sat 10:15pm
BYU  
Teams Score Time
American League
Houston   7:08pm
New York  
Teams Score Time
Washington   7:00pm
Philadelphia  
Toronto   7:30pm
Brooklyn  
Houston   8:00pm
Miami  
New Orleans   8:00pm
New York  
Memphis   8:30pm
San Antonio  
Los Angeles   10:30pm
Golden State  
Teams Score Time
Arizona   Sun 1:00pm
New York  
Houston   Sun 1:00pm
Indianapolis  
Jacksonville   Sun 1:00pm
Cincinnati  
Los Angeles   Sun 1:00pm
Atlanta  
Miami   Sun 1:00pm
Buffalo  
Minnesota   Sun 1:00pm
Detroit  
Oakland   Sun 1:00pm
Green Bay  
San Francisco   Sun 1:00pm
Washington  
Los Angeles   Sun 4:05pm
Tennessee  
Baltimore   Sun 4:25pm
Seattle  
New Orleans   Sun 4:25pm
Chicago  
Philadelphia   Sun 8:20pm
Dallas  
New England   Mon 8:15pm
New York  
Teams Score Time
Colorado   7:00pm
Florida  
Dallas   7:00pm
Pittsburgh  
New York   7:00pm
Washington  
Columbus   8:30pm
Chicago  
Detroit   9:00pm
Edmonton  
Carolina   10:00pm
Anaheim  
MONSTER ENERGY NASCAR CUP SERIES AT TALLADEGA
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 12 Ryan Blaney 9
2 6 Ryan Newman 13
3 11 Denny Hamlin 40
4 10 Aric Almirola 5
5 34 Michael McDowell 22
6 3 Austin Dillon 20
7 32 Corey Lajoie 33
8 9 Chase Elliott 1
9 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 7
NASCAR XFINITY SERIES AT DOVER
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 00 Cole Custer 3
2 7 Justin Allgaier 8
3 22 Austin Cindric 2
4 11 Justin Haley 11
5 98 Chase Briscoe 1
6 1 Michael Annett 16
7 9 Noah Gragson 7
8 23 John Hunter Nemechek 17
9 8 Zane Smith 10
NASCAR GANDER OUTDOORS TRUCK SERIES AT TALLADEGA
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 20 Spencer Boyd 25
2 4 Todd Gilliland 6
3 51 Riley Herbst 7
4 24 Brett Moffitt 8
5 52 Stewart Friesen 10
6 16 Austin Hill 13
7 17 Tyler Ankrum 2
8 88 Matt Crafton 1
9 2 Sheldon Creed 5